How I Started Out In Tech Vs Now

My Struggle and My Goal

ยท

3 min read

How I Started Out In Tech Vs Now

About Me

I'm Harry Udechukwu from Nigeria, A budding UX Designer, Frontend Developer and Mobile Photographer. I'm currently studying Anatomy, a four years degree program in Nnamdi Azikwe University Awka.

I've been asked on several occasions why I didn't move further studying computer science or any tech related course since I've hard the passion for computers and wants to expand more. It's more like a hard question to me but I gave them a simple reply

"We (human beings) can create opportunities, wealth and comfort anywhere once there's light, capital and motivation". It's very simple to understand, Let's take for example, I'm a certified anatomist , UX designer and software developer, I can research, design and build apps that helps people know more about their internal body system."

Without much delay, Let's hop in to the main point of this article.

My Struggle

Since day 1, I've been interested in tech and computers because I was close to my cousin who is a data engineer. As I grew up, I felt attached to it. I decided to start with web development around 2018 , which i used SOLO LEARN app to learn. I completed the HTML and CSS courses there. I learnt the basics, I went ahead creating simple webpages as I learnt more, Fast forward down to the ending of 2020, I got a help from a German software developer who helped me got my first laptop a used "Acer Aspire " . I started learning Javascript and developed interest on UX Design. I started learning by watching YouTube videos.

Fortunately for me, one month of venturing into UX Design, I created several prototypes, engaged in Design Tasks, which helped me fast track my learning process before my laptop developed a serious technical issue, The laptop shuts down randomly without any warning or error message. I took it to the repair shop, they told me "The problem is from the "OS(Windows)" that I'll need to change my windows. I paid them to change the OS and service the laptop. It worked when I got home, I updated the PC and the apps because they were outdated that night, hopefully to kick start my design journey, meanwhile while it was having issues which lasted for months, I never gave up, I was drawing wireframes and reading design articles.

The next day, I came back from lectures, switched on my laptop, opened Figma suddenly the laptop went off again without any sign or warning. I was speechless and lost. I tried switching it on but it repeated the same action. I slept off worried that night. The next morning, I took it that same repair shop, they told me that it was a motherboard problem. The solution was to replace the motherboard. The motherboard price was โ…— the laptop price, I definitely couldn't afford that amount. Fast forward to now, I made a decision to join the community. I didn't join only but to contribute to the community. So I will contribute to the community through articles..

My Goal

The articles will entail bunch of exciting contents for both developers and designers curated by me.

I will write about;

  1. Freebies
  2. Dev/ Designers tools
  3. Best articles from renowned Design and developers blog
  4. Text to text interview with developers, designers(UI/UX, Graphic, Interaction, Visual etc), data engineers, DevOps and lots of niche in tech to discuss about their ways of surviving and living right as a tech bro or babe.
  5. Job And Intern Openings and more exciting topics.

I believe by doing this I can motivate myself and others experiencing hard times in their tech journey, get exposed to the community, build connection, restart my career, get a job and expand more.

This is my long term goal, I'll continue creating helpful articles even after getting a laptop.

Thank you for reading. I hope I've enlightened you about myself and I plead on you to support me on this journey.

Till next time ๐Ÿ‘‹ Peace

ย